I can speak Chinese, kinda.

I’ve kind of always been a bit envious of people who have collections, of anything really. Some people have piles of cool kicks, some have spoons, some have things I’d never want in the first place. Despite what makes the collection, I’ve just always found it neat to see what some people value enough to hold on to. In thinking about my admiration for other people’s collections I realized I have one of my own. Let me introduce you to…

my fortune collection.

So maybe it’s not as cool as Starbucks cups from across the country or ticket stubs from every concert you ever tapped your toes at, but it is 121 fortunes that have found themselves thrown together to make a collection. I never really thought about collecting all the fortunes, they just all came together over time, and I think that makes my collection just as neat as all the ones I wish I had. It’s 100+ meals I shared with people I love. It’s 100+ conversations filled with highs and lows. It’s 100+ cookies cracked open and never eaten. It’s 100+ fortunes that individually don’t mean much more than a quick saying and a random selection of numbers but come together to make a collection that is all mine.

Aside from realizing I have my very own collection I’ve realized if I learned the chinese word on the back of each fortune I just might be able to speak some very very broken chinese.. I could at least order dinner.

Here are a couple of my favorites.

You have the ability to touch the lives of many people.

Your example will inspire others.

Beauty is your heart, let it out, let it beat, give yourself a treat.

Everything has beauty, but not everyone sees it.

Love is a gift that can be given each and every day.

Comment

