I am so rich.

And that is something I hope I never forget.

I am currently, and have been for quite some time now, reading Crazy Love by Francis Chan, and the reason I say it’s taken me a while to read is because I get so engrossed in this book I just read the same chapters over and over again. Today was my third time reading the section Poor Rich People. Here is just a tidbit of what it says…

“If one hundred people represented the world’s population, fifty-three of those would live on less than $2 a day. Do you realize that if you make $4000 a month, you automatically make one hundred times more than the average person on this planet? Simply by purchasing this book, you spend what a majority of people in the world will make in a week’s time.

Which is more messed up- that we have so much compared to everyone else, or that we don’t think we’re rich? That on any given day we might flippantly call ourselves “broke” or “poor”? We are neither of those things. We are rich. Filthy rich.”

Right now I’m living in a very peculiar time in my life. I can count my fixed costs on one hand and I am able to save 90% of my paycheck. Granted I am only able to have the job I have (and a very small income) because of the situation I currently find myself in, no rent check to write, no expensive trips to the grocery store, no car payment. I have it incredibly easy right now. However, all of that will be changing real soon. I’ve been cautioned by many the stress that finances casts onto a marriage. Add in that we’re both young, have about a half a year of savings to our names, and are truly just now getting out on our own, we’ve got our work cut out for us. While I know a great change is in store for me, no more $5 coffees for this girl, I hope I never forget one thing, I am so filthy rich. I know that a lot of people hear things like the quote above and say, you can’t buy anything for $2 in America, and I agree. $2 goes a lot further in lesser developed countries, no doubt about it. But with that small amount someone buys just what they need to get by, and their gratitude for that is far exceeding the gratitude I show for the $20 meal I just picked up because it was convenient. I certainly am not challenging myself or you all to try to live a life on $2 a week, but I am hoping that I never forget that God provides for me exactly the amount I need, not want. He wants us to appreciate every dollar we spend, ever meal that nourishes us, and every night that we can fall asleep knowing so confidently that we’ll see morning on the other side of our dreams. As I move into a stage where my purse strings will get pulled tighter than ever before I hope that I remember just how rich I am. Things will certainly be tough at times but there is no other man I’d rather go through richer and poorer with, and no greater God to carry us through it all.

Never forget just how rich you truly are.

2 thoughts on “I am so rich.

  1. Kelly, Sherry shared this link….. thanks for sharing your heart Love that book Crazy Love really makes you stop and think. Have you seen his videos online that go with each chapter? If not you should check them out. Have a great day! Donna Boyce

Comment

