Lately.

I’ve been a bit of lazy blogger lately so this is me now bombarding you all with photos of what’s been going on. Here is life lately…

Three weeks ago my sister, Kim, came up to Raleigh to visit. We went to the State Farmer’s market where we got scuppernongs and a watermelon with more seeds in it then I have ever seen before- still delicious though. We also hit up a local “fun-spot” where we raced go carts and took a swing at the batting cages. And then I spent the next three days holding my side, people, stretch before you swing. Raleigh is currently scattered with giant decorated cow statues. Apparently this is an annual art festival that takes place. We have a bunch of them at a shopping center near our home so we snapped a quick pic with a floral cow. Then we made our way to Duke University, where they of course were having their first home football game. We opted to stroll through the Duke Gardens for a more relaxed Duke experience. The flowers were blooming, the sun was shining, and a wedding was underway. We got to watch the bride make her entrance in what I’ll be calling, the most unorganized wedding I’ve ever seen. I won’t get into details, just know, the veil barely made it down the aisle and the groom hardly made it to his place on time. We also went downtown to the Museum of Natural Sciences. This is where I had a chill-inducing experience with a snake display and then could hardly turn a corner without having a serious case of the creeps. I couldn’t even enjoy the butterfly room knowing there was a tarantula crawling around in the same space. And I just about lost it when I saw the cockroach display. Tiny box, dozens of cockroaches, too much to handle. Ick. Unrelated to all of that, later in the week while at Barnes and Noble I saw that little book up there The Sibling Effect : What the bonds among brothers and sisters reveal about us. It took a lot of self-restraint to not pick this one up and slyly make the purchase. I’m pretty sure I know my role in the family but I’d love to know Mr. Kluger’s thoughts. I may or may not be secretly purchasing this on my kindle.

 

Two weekends ago I made my way back to Charlotte for some pre-wedding activities for my dear friend Madison. While there I of course spent some girl time with my all-time favorite puppy and gave her a bone-bow. And there is nothing better than dancing in a pair of mickey mouse slippers- you should try it. The jar is something I’m trying, and calling the Five for Five jar. For the next five years I am going to put every five dollar bill I get into the jar. And on September 10, 2017 I’m going to smash that thing to pieces and take all my little five dollar bills somewhere special to treat myself. This could vary greatly. Right now I have $10 dollars so I know I’ll at least be able to go to Starbucks and get a celebratory drink if nothing else. I’m pretty excited to see where life will take me and that jar. For Madison’s bachelorette party we went to Wine and Design (for some reason I always want to spell wine as whine.. big difference). I had never done this before and I really enjoyed it. For our class we painted a “Starry Night” inspired Charlotte Skyline. Mine is now proudly displayed in our living room-

 

This past weekend I was back in Charlotte again for the BIG day. There was a bride, a groom, a flower girl, and tons and tons of people who poured out love and well-wishes for a couple that couldn’t be more deserving of it all. And I was absolutely honored to be a part of it all. There was also gorgeous flowers, a tear-inducing walk down the aisle, a night of celebration, a scrumptious cake, a whole bunch of dancing, and a sparkling departure. I’ve known this particular Mr & Mrs since high school and remember the days of sitting between them in Chemistry class. I’ll never forget the squeal that escaped me as I saw the rock on her finger for the first time and the way she smiled when she first tried on her wedding dress. Nothing is sweeter then when truly great people find true love.

What have you all been up to lately?

One thought on “Lately.

  1. Does Maggie take bad pictures? That puppy is so photogenic it’s crazy. Still don’t know why we don’t send a head shot to some puppy food companies.
    Love the pics girl!

Comment

