A hole in the wall.

Two holes to be exact.
I just hung this up in our apartment, and it’s kind of a big deal.

You see, I’ve kind of had this anti-hole-in-the-wall mentality since moving to Raleigh. The less stuff we have to take down, the easier it is for us to leave (and if you can’t tell, I’m not exactly a fan of my new city just yet).

So, for the past two-ish months I’ve avoided putting ANYTHING on the walls. Our apartment is basically bare. This has been a bit strange for me, I come from a place of having a giant beach mural on my wall. I am all about having things on the walls.

Yesterday I had a moment. In this moment I realized that I needed to put a hole in the wall. I haven’t been feeling at home here in my new place. I’ve actually felt quite out-of-place. I’ve prayed consistently that God would open my eyes to what my purpose is here in Raleigh. I am confident that He has brought Clint and I to this new place for His glory. The thing is, I’ve been sitting here in Raleigh waiting for God to leave a letter in the mailbox, detailing my next step, telling me exactly what my purpose is here. The problem is, I’m not currently in a place to receive what He has for me here. It’s like I haven’t changed my address yet and that letter keeps getting sent back. I’ve been so focused on how I miss my hometown, and how I don’t feel at peace here that I’ve left no room for God to step in and pour His love, wisdom, grace, and many other things into my life.

Today, I put two holes in the wall. It took less than five minutes and all it really did was add a bit of umph to a bare wall in our bedroom; but for me, it’s a step in the direction of letting God work miracles through me, no matter where I am. For all I know, I am supposed to spend the rest of my life in Raleigh, and if that is His plan, than it shall be. I am committing to a life of living. Living where I am, while I’m there, each and every day.

With two holes in the wall, I have committed. 

3 thoughts on “A hole in the wall.

Comment

