Let’s get cookin’: Macaroni & Cheese

A little while back I showed you guys how I’ve been cookin’ it up in the kitchen. Well today I’m going to share one of my favorite dishes that we’ve been enjoying in the Simpson household.

Until I started dating Clint I never knew that people actually ate just Mac & Cheese for dinner. And I certainly never knew that people made it from scratch! I grew up in a home where a box of Kraft was made on nights where we had hamburgers and hotdogs. My husband grew up in a home where macaroni and cheese was made by hand and a Thanksgiving staple. When we got married (almost three months ago!) and I started thinking of all the things I wanted to make, new and old recipes alike, I had macaroni and cheese at the top of the list. I went searching through one of the cookbooks I received as a shower gift and found a delicious recipe from Williams-Sonoma’s The Weeknight Cook. Their three-cheese macaroni was just what I was looking for, however, 2 out of those three cheeses were one’s I could hardly pronounce and they come from the fancy cheese counter. So me and my sweet husband came up with a more budget friendly mac & cheese and I think we’re giving Williams-Sonoma a run for their money.

So here, is Macaroni & Cheese…

What you’ll need to get cookin’

  • 3 Cups of Milk
  • 5 Tbl of butter
  • 3 Tbl of flour
  • 3/4 cup of Sharp Cheddar cheese; shredded.
  • 3/4 cup of Aged Swiss cheese; shredded.
  • 1lb of Macaroni elbows
  • Salt & Pepper

Let’s make it

  • In a medium sized sauce pan over medium heat, warm the milk. Remove from heat once small bubbles begin to appear around the edges of the pan.
  • In a large saucepan over low heat, melt the butter.
  • Add the flour to melted butter, whisking to mix it all together.
  • Raise the heat to medium-low and cook this mixture for 4-5 minutes, it should look golden.
  • Slowly whisk in the milk and cook for 15 minutes, stirring frequently, until it becomes thick and creamy.

This is about when I start boiling my water and cook the pasta. But don’t strain it yet!

  • Add in your cheese, slowly whisking it into the mixture.
  • Stir the cheese until it is entirely melted, about 2-3 minutes.
  • Now you can strain your pasta (but don’t get rid of all that water!!)
  • When straining reserve about half a cup of that starchy-goodness water.
  • Add the drained pasta to the cheese sauce and stir together.
  • Add in cooking water to your preference- the more water, the thinner the cheese; the less water, the thicker.
  • Serve and enjoy!

I serve this easy peasy mac and cheese with corn. Partially because corn is my fav veggie and because I quite honestly don’t know what else to serve it with. But truly, the mac and cheese can definitely stand alone.

I hope you enjoy this meal as much as we do!

Let me know how this mac&cheese plays out at your kitchen table!!

FYI- I’m linking this meal up with Lauren over at Letters from Lala (Who has a lovely blog and a super cute [and expanding!] family) who is finding out everyone’s favorite fall fixin’

Letters From LaLa
2 thoughts on “Let’s get cookin’: Macaroni & Cheese

  1. Pingback: Let’s get cookin’: Sweet & Sour Chicken | Something Beautiful

  2. Ooooh! My boys LOVE some Mac and Cheese and I’m always on the lookout for yummy recipes so I can avoid the boxed stuff. Looks delish. I’ll have to give this a try. Thanks for sharing!

Comment

