Let’s get cookin’: Sweet & Sour Chicken

Last week I shared Mac & Cheese with you all, and hopefully some of you even gave it a try!  Today I’ll be sharing one of my favorite recipes yet. It is so delish and surprisingly easy. (Which makes it more tasty- things are more yummy when you’re not exhausted from slaving over a stove.) So, here my friends, is sweet and sour chicken…

((Thanks to the Mr for taking the pictures. Unlike some people out there on the internet, I only have two hands, so I’m not quite able to hold a hot dish, flip chicken, and snap a picture all at the same time. So for now I’ll just stick to my current food photographer.))

What you’ll need to get cookin’

For the Chicken

  • A package of boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 1 cup of flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup of canola oil

For the Sauce

  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 4 Tbs ketchup
  • 1/2 cup distilled white vinegar
  • 1 Tbs soy sauce
  • 1 Tbs garlic salt

Let’s make it:

  • Preheat your oven to 325 degrees.
  • Rinse the chicken breasts and dry (I usually do a bit of snipping to get rid of little fatty pieces). Season with salt and pepper then cube chicken.
  • Roll the chicken in the flour then submerge in the eggs (scramble them eggs!) and place aside.
  • Heat 1/4 cup of oil in a large skillet over medium heat.
  • Cook chicken until browned but not cooked. (I typically do 3 minutes then do a stir/flip and do another 3 minutes).

       While chicken is cooking prepare your sauce.

  • Add all your sauce ingredients in a bowl (sugar, ketchup, vinegar, soy sauce, garlic salt) and whisk. (This is my favorite step because I get to use the mini-whisk!)
  • When the chicken is finished browning place in a greased 9×13 baking dish.
  • Pour sweet and sour sauce evenly over the chicken.
  • Bake in the oven for one hour, turning the chicken every 15 minutes. (The smell gets better and better as you go!!)
  • Serve and enjoy!

I serve the chicken with white rice (which is made easier because your chicken is on a timer, no guessing when you need to start your rice… coordinating made easy!) I am thinking about trying my hand at lo mein to make this a full on Chinese meal.

I hope you enjoy this meal as much as we do!

Let me know how this sweet & sour chicken plays out at your kitchen table!

Comment

