Awkward and Awesome.

Reason #234829374 why I love the crockpot… I can take a nap while I should be cooking and wake up to dinner. Fabulous.

Awkward.

-In a nut shell, I entered to win a John Deere tractor while at the State Fair. If won, I’d sell that sucker for some money money money. Well, now, I get phone calls twice a week telling me I won a home security system (which I don’t want- and couldn’t have either way as I live in an apartment) but those security people have thought of it all, you can pass the system on to a friend(which I also don’t want to do). Today I got phone call number 10 thousand and decided I was going to put an end to it. I was going to get fierce with those persistent phone operators. After I let the lady complete her little talking bit, I say, I’ve already told them I’m not interested but I’d appreciate if you’d take me off your calling list.. to which she responded “well this isn’t a list, it’s a hand written card that you filled out.” First of all, what what?! Just take me off your darn list, don’t go back talking. I knew I had to really get aggressive so I said, well, I was trying to win a tractor [yes- I realize how ridiculous this sounds] not a security system so please just remove me from the call chain… Then little Miss Southern sassy pants responds with… “Well how about I just throw your entry away since you’re clearly not interested in winning anything anyway…::click::.. SHE HUNG UP ON ME! I was the one trying to lay down the law and yet I’m the one that gets hung up on. ?? I’m hoping this is a sign that I’m nicer than a telephone operator. And I guess I won’t be winning that tractor.
-I had the most stressful, anxiety-inducing experience at church this past Sunday. We go to a pretty popular church back home in Charlotte and 99% of the time everyone is super excited to be there and is in total ‘praise the lord’ mode. This weekend I was sitting behind the exception to that. There was a man, not much older than myself, who clearly did not want to be there. He was alone and sulking from the moment the first song began. He sat in his seat with his big jacket hooding his head and, though I was sitting behind him so I can’t totally verify this, sulking. I’ve been going to the same church for almost six years now and I have literally never seen a single person that didn’t want to be there… so his behavior  caught my attention, and kept it. He was visibly so upset to be there, throwing his head down into his hands, huffing and puffing, definitely not paying a bit of attention to the sermon. It made me super uncomfortable, as well as the other people sitting around him who I saw eye-balling him and his odd behavior. I may or may not have let my mind wander a bit leading to one particular moment where he reached behind him and I prepared myself for him to produce a handgun. I voiced my concern to Clint, quietly mind you- no need to upset the crazy man, but he just rolled his eyes at me. Nothing came of all of this of course, but I did leave feeling a bit awkward… I guess that’ll happen when you sit in church praying to God that he help you get out of church. I promise to be a much better church attender next week.

Awesome.

-I got my hair cut. And the experience wasn’t horrible. It may have been because I now have less than half the hair so the blow-drying time has been shortened, but it was kind of awesome to not suffer from a heat stroke at the salon.
-I went to Harris Teeter yesterday and completed my entire trip in ten minutes. I think it’s safe to say I officially have learned the aisles. And it doesn’t hurt to go at 10 o’clock on a Monday morning, hello empty aisles!
-I decorated our apartment for Christmas :] We only have a few little things but I think it’s a good start. We’re waiting to get a tree until after we do all our gift shopping so I layed out all our ornaments so we can at least admire them a bit for now… and the kitty is quite enjoying being able to admire them at eye-level.

What’s been awkward & awesome lately?

2 thoughts on “Awkward and Awesome.

  1. Wow, you must have gotten an operator lady having a really bad day. I would call one of those 10 thousand numbers back and demand that tractor.

Comment

